Ashby Starr Bright – Babies 14 and 15

ASHBY STARR’S 100 BABY CHALLENGE

BABY 14 and 15

            The girls, Violet Newbie and Christy Quinn, picked me up and whisked me away for some down time. 

            First they took me to a salon where we all had makeovers. As I was getting pampered Vi and Christy took the liberty to un-pack my luggage and repack it. Meaning they got rid of all my black, mourning clothes and replaced them with colors and cheerful clothes. I wasn’t happy with this, but I was too tired to argue with them.

   

 

 

            We arrived in Barnacle Bay and Christy asked the drive to take us to an address and not to a hotel. I questioned it and she just told me to lean my head back against the cabs seat and to not stress. The one rule of the week was no stress allowed. 

 

            I did as instructed and soon we were pulling up to a cute three bedroom house. We got out of the cab and as Vi paid the driver Christy handed me a set of keys. 

            “What is this for?” I asked looking down at the cute little heart keychain. 

            “This is Connery’s surprise for you. This is your new vacation home. This house has been in his family for years and now it belongs to you.” 

            “Wh…?” I chocked on my question and tears began to well in my eyes.

            “What do you think sweetie?” Vi came up behind me and put her petite hands on my shoulder. She gave them a gentle squeeze and before I knew it I was in her arms crying on her shoulder.  

            She rubbed my back and stroked my hair and when my sobbing turned to sniffles she said, “Shssh now honey. Dry your eyes and let’s go inside.” 

I removed my face from her shoulder and turned to Christy’s extended hand and took hers into mine. I didn’t know this woman very well, but I knew why Connery treasured her friendship. The three of us walked in and the décor was warm and cozy and I immediately felt at home.  

 

            The girls allowed me to find my room and get myself together. After sitting in my room for about an hour I went into the bathroom and went to find my friends.

            “I’m getting a bit hungry.” I tried to smile to let them know I was going to try and have a good time.

            “I know the perfect place.” Vi got excited and ran to her purse. She pulled out a flier and threw it on the table. “When Connery told me where he was sending us I did some research and Hogan’s Deep Sea Dinner gets the best reviews in the area and the best part is it’s in an old pirate ship.” 

            Seeing Vi as excited as one of our kids when they discover new made my attempted smile turn into a genuine one. I started to remember that I had so much to be thankful for. Yes my heart was broken, but I had great friends and I was blessed with so many wonderful children and I was even blessed to have Connery in my life even for a short time.

 

 

            The dinner wasn’t far from my new home and the food was as wonderful as the reviews said it would be. After we left the dinner we walked down to the beach. Violet and I decided to relax and listen to the waves crash against the shore while Christy decided to explore, and what she found would give us hours of entertainment. 

 

            She found a little rec center down the beach. While there we started to get to know the locals and had some fun playing games, chatting and just being women. 

 

 

 

            We called it an early night the first night and I went straight to bed when we got home. My emotional state and the day’s events left me exhausted. Christy decided to work on her mixology skills and begged Vi to help her out. The next morning I got to hear all about their time. Vi told me that Christy can’t make a decent drink to save her life. Good thing she is an awesome mom. It sounds like the two of them had a great time.

 

            After breakfast we took a cab into town. We had a whole day of just being outdoors.

 

            First we went to the park. We went back to our childhood days and played on the park equipment and played tagged. We had a picnic with sandwiches and chips and it was a fun fun day.


 

 

            That night we built a fire by the shore and told ghost stories and talked about our kids.

 

            However, talking about family brought up my feelings for Connery and the plans we, I should say the plans that I, were making. I had to excuse myself and in the shadows of the night I wept over my loss and again I started to question how I was ever going to continue with my challenge.



 

 

 

            The girls found me in this state and decided that a ladies night is what I needed and they took me to one of the local hangouts. I am not sure what it was called, but we had a good night.

            We had a little too much to drink and I found myself spilling my woes to the mixologist. He was a good sport though and just listened to me. It surprised me to find out that the mixologist’s grandma and Connery’s mom were friends and it saddened the guy to find out that Connery had passed.

            It didn’t take long for the drinks to go to my head and I let loose and tried to dance away my worries. It seemed to work at the time. 

 

            The next morning I could not stomach food nor could I stand that smell of it. I couldn’t believe that Vi and Christy could, but according to their story the mixologist that I thought was so nice and friendly kept feeding me drinks in hopes that I would agree to let him be in my challenge. Thankfully I have two great friends who know I wasn’t ready for that and didn’t allow it to happen.

 

            After my stomach started to settle down we decided to go to the local pool. Don’t we look hot? 

            We had a great time swimming, dancing and meeting the locals. We wanted to make sure that we got to do everything we wanted to do because we would be heading home the following morning. 

 

 

            That night we dressed up in our finest and went out on the town. We stopped for drinks first, I ordered club soda this time, and then it was dinner and finally dancing. 

            The next morning as our plane floated through the sky I thought about the time we just had and I felt peaceful. For the first time since Connery passed I didn’t have this overwhelming feeling of dread. I didn’t have a knot the size of a baseball field in the pit of my stomach. For the first time I really thought that I would be able to continue my challenge. That is what my husband wanted. That is what Harmony wanted, and for the two of them and the sake of my future children that is what I wanted too.

 

****THANK YOU VIOLET NEWBIE FOR CREATING SUCH A LOVLEY HOUSE FOR ME AND MY CHILDREN. I AM NOT SURE HOW I CAN EVER REPAY YOU! ****

Christy and Vi dropped me off at a house I didn’t recognize. 

            “Surprise!!” My children, Vi and Christy yelled as my kids came running from the front door.

            “What is this?” I asked wondering why my kids were in this breath taking house. We didn’t know the people who lived here.

            “Ashby, you are my dearest friend and my heart breaks for what you have been through. Your Kids, all of them, Della, Addy, Christy, and myself designed this house for you. We started the plans sometime ago, before you found Connery and AJ and I started the constructions months ago. After Connery past we thought about waiting to present our gift for you, but we feel this will help you with your fresh start and to continue your challenge without so many memories.   We hope you like it.” Violet handed me the second set of keys I had received in the past few days.

            “This is too much. I love you all.” I couldn’t find the words to completely express what I was feeling, but I think they knew. 

            After I was able to gather myself I went to my children……


 

 

            only to find that they weren’t as I left them. The boys decided to age up without me. 

            Levi told me that he aged up to take care of the triplets because Ash and Elvira started to get real busy with their new lives. He just wanted to help out. 

            What a handsome young man my baby turned into. He still has own unique look, but I think he makes it work.

            You can download Levi as a YA here: http://www.thesims3.com/assetDetail.html?assetId=3861014

            The Grinch Triplets had also aged up. Kenyon told me that they knew how said I was and how much I missed Connery. They wanted to be able to help out more so they aged into teens.

 

 

 

 

Kole Starr Bright: http://www.thesims3.com/assetDetail.html?assetId=3861015

 

 

Kenyon Starr Bright: http://www.thesims3.com/assetDetail.html?assetId=3861019

 

 

Kemper Starr Bright: http://www.thesims3.com/assetDetail.html?assetId=3861021

                       

            It appears that the boys got mostly The Grinch’s looks, but Kenyon got my eye color and Kemper got his grandma’s eye color. My Grinch boys are all unique and have very different personalities, but they are my boys and brothers. I am blessed to have such unique children.


 

 

            After hugging my newly aged children I excused myself with promises to tell them all about my trip and headed upstairs to find my new room and to get cleaned up. 

            I showered and went to my new walk in closet to find yet another gift. My friends are too much. They got me a whole new wardrobe. I noticed that there was very little black clothing.  I know they mean well and they want me to feel better, but a little part of me feels guilty that I am not wearing the traditional mourning garb to honor my love. However, Connery wasn’t such a traditional guy, so perhaps he is up there smiling down on my new look.

 

            Levi stayed with us and had supper and I told the boys all about my trip.   They were fascinated that I ate in a real pirate ship and deiced that someday they would take a trip to BB and see that in person. 

            After dinner I asked Kenyon and Levi to join me outside. Violet had given me a beautiful bench in front of the house and I decided that the new Starr Bright family tradition would be to have a good-bye picture taken before any of my children move out. Kenyon did a great job at capturing the moment and it was finally time to bid my 2nd adopted son good-bye.

            “Mom, I want to thank you for what you have done for me. If you wouldn’t have adopted…”

            I cut him off, “Baby, you are my son and it doesn’t matter how you came to me. I love you and there is no need to thank me. You go off and do great things in this world, okay?” I cupped his cheeks with my hands and kissed him squarely on the forehead. 

            As he left tears leaked from my eyes. I really hated the leaving part of this challenge, but I guess every child leaves at some point to make their own way in this world.

           

 

                The first night at in my new house in my new house was a strange one. The house seemed empty with only me and the three Grinch boys and I had the strangest dream. At least I think it was a dream.

            I dreamed the Connery came to me. He wasn’t in a corporeal state, but in a ghostly one. He told me he was proud that I was going to finish my challenge and that I needed to find a new dad soon. 

            It was very strange to say the least.



 

 

 

            After Levi let it didn’t take long for the Grinch Triplets to fall into a routine. I spent as much time with them as I could before and after school and on the weekends. 

 

 

 


 

 

            A few weeks after I returned from my trip Derrick’s father, Asher Lemi, came to pay his respects to Connery and to see how I was holding up. He is such a great friend and I am grateful that he and I share such a wonderful son together. 

            We had a terrific time together catching up, laughing about old times and even mourning over Connery. His visit was very short, but I was so glad he was able to make it.

 

 

 

            Then the unexpected happened. A man showed up at my door and asked to be part of my challenge. I should have expected this, because I didn’t announce that I was quitting my challenge and I vowed to continue, but I was thrown off by his request.

            He seemed to sense that I was uncomfortable and proceeded to introduce himself.

            “Let me start this over. My name is Gabriel Holy and I am an angel from Sim heaven. I have been watching you since you were a little girl, I am your assigned guardian angel, and I admire your decision to do the 100 baby challenge to honor your missing cousin. Watching you and Connery and the love you shared and lost made me want to help you continue your challenge. I was granted a pass and now I am here imploring you to allow me in your challenge.”

            My jaw dropped. This man was telling me he was an angel, but not just any angel my guardian angel. I didn’t want to believe it, but something about him was very familiar and something about him told me he was telling the truth. 

            “Well… err….” I stammered not knowing what to say.

            “I can tell you aren’t completely ready so how about a stay a few days and we go from there?”

            Again I felt I could trust this man and I agreed to let him stay for a few days.

 

            My Kenyon is a very strange boy, but I think that is one of the best things about him. He marches to the beat of his own drum and despite his grumpiness that he got from his father; he seems to be a very happy boy.

            Days went by and Gabriel was such a caring loving man in the household. Don’t get me wrong he wasn’t Connery but his presence made a person feel relaxed and at ease. I am sure it is his angel nature or something.


 

 

            I have to admit that I was very attracted to Gabriel and I found myself acting like a little school girl around him. I even snuck in and took his picture while he was in the shower. WHO DOES THAT??!!?? 

            When he caught me in the act he didn’t get mad or upset he simply looked at me with the sweetest expression on his face and then winked at me. I slowly crept out of the bathroom. 


 

 

            It had been just over a week since Gabriel came to stay with us and the boys were all out for the evening visiting friends. I decided to relax in the hot tub and was surprised that Gabriel deiced to join me. The whole time he had been there he hadn’t tried to kiss me, come on to me or even brought up my challenge, but now he was in the hot tub with me. I stiffened up and at first I wouldn’t look at him. It was hard to feel intimacy to anyone other than Connery.

            He turned to me and said, “Ashby, my time is running short. I hate to do this, I wanted you to come around on your own, but I really want to be part of your challenge.”

I tensed up even more for I feared that he was going to force himself on me but he did no such thing. He just sat back and closed his eyes enjoying the relaxing hum of the hot tub. I was confused by what he had said to me and I started to relax. Then I got too relaxed. I am not sure if it was the bubbles from the hot tub or if Gabriel used his angel charms on me, but I started to giggle and then next think I knew I was making the first move and soon baby 14 was conceived.

After the hot tub he picked me up and carried me upstairs where we fell asleep in each other’s arms. He held me so close and I felt safe and protected. When the sun rose the next morning Gabriel was gone and the only things he left behind was a single white feather and his unborn child.

 

I love it when my children come to visit me. Harmony came for a visit and I was able to share with her the good news of baby number 14. I hadn’t even told the Grinch Triplets yet, but I thought it was very fitting that my first born be told first.

 

            I didn’t have morning sickness, thank God, with this pregnancy but I did find myself reacting to anything I ate, and it wasn’t a good reaction. Now I am worried that angel children may need special food like vampire children do. No one told me how to raise an angel child. Will I do an okay job? 

            Except for the reaction to food my pregnancy went well. When the day came to have my precious little one I decided a home birth was the best way to go.

 

            The pain was intense this time and the labor lasted a lot longer then I was used to but in the end I delivered two healthy, I know they were healthy because both Xerxes (Harmony’s oldest) and my Harmony was visiting and they both work for the hospital, baby boys. 

 

 

 

            Welcome Newbie Starr Bright to our family.

 

 

            And Quinn Starr Bright.

            I named the boys after Violet Newbie and Christy Quinn. I wanted to remember that these two women were part of the reason I continued my challenge. They were great friends and they cared for me, as I them, deeply.

            Having a home delivery didn’t stop the rumors from flying around town. The whispers of me having children out of wedlock began circulating and those I was use to but the whispers about how quickly I moved on from Connery and how having a child with another man so soon was considered unfaithful even though he was gone ripped my heart out of my chest. People don’t think before they talk and they don’t understand how hurtful they can be. However, as always I held my head up high and wadded through the gossip with class and poise.


 

 

            Days after the angel twins were born I was taking the recycling out and through the window of the nursery I saw the most unexpected sight. I saw my middle Grinch son showing great interest in tending to the needs of the twins.

            Luckily I had my camera in my pocket and I was able to snap a picture of him and Quinn through the window. I rushed inside and when I got to the nursery he was already tending to little Newbie. 

            This sight surely warmed my heart and perhaps Kemper won’t be so closed off like his father……

 

**thank you for reading my blog; I hope you are enjoying reading it as much as I enjoy writing it for you. Please send me feedback I would love to hear from you. You can leave a message here or find me on facebook under Ashby Starr Bright.**                   

Leave a Reply

